Bon fire boots. My Blunnies.

Posted on

I got lost today. In Wortley Village too. I spend so much time their one would think it’s almost impossible to get lost. Well maybe lost isn’t the correct term. I couldn’t find the street I was on. Really I was looking for an address on Iroquois Ave and only found Iroquois St… (It will make sense in a minute. Maybe.)

I started the day off by leaving home without my smartphone… I was at the other side of the city before I noticed so I figured I’d continue on with my day and pick up the phone when I was back in that end of town. Problem was I needed to go to an address on Iroquois Ave. Not so hard. I kind of know the area that Iroquois Ave is in. The south end of the village… I’ll just drive around until I find it. Sure enough I found it pretty quickly! Just off Cathcart St. But I found Iroquois St. not Ave. No biggy it’s probably a little Ave off the St. I’ll just drive a bit more and come across it. Well I drove East on Iroquois St and it turned into Murray St at the bend. Hmm…

That’s when I stopped and asked a bunch of people standing on the sidewalk where Iroquois Ave was. One guy got his phone out and showed me that I was on Iroquois Ave. I told him I wasn’t. It is the St not Ave. I needed the Ave. I looked on his phone and it said Ave and their weren’t any other Iroquois anything’s around. I told him that the sign on the corner said St then thanked him for his help and drove West.

When I got the the corner I checked the sign again. IROQUOIS ST! Hmm. (I would have taken a picture but… My phone was at home…) So I drove down to the # address I wanted and knocked on the door. A nice old guy named Leo answered the door. I asked him if he lived on Iroquois Ave or Iroquois St. He told me Ave. So I was at the right place. I did what I needed to do and left.

I haven’t come across a mislabeled street sign before. I’m not even sure if it is mislabeled now that I check Google Maps… On there Google calls the part of the street that I asked the guys on the sidewalk Murray St!Wrong map Not Iroquois anything… But I’m pretty sure that the guy on the sidewalk knows where he lives too…

Just another day in the village. (I’ll let the city know their is a discrepancy in the labeling of the street When I have time.) (The mislabeled sigh is on the corner of Iroquois ? and Cathcart St. The sign at Edward St and Iroquois ? is supposedly correct.

I got home a bit early today because my toe hurt. Once home I helped Jasmine skip on the sidewalk with Heidi.20150515_132003 20150515_132127 Heidi even did some skipping. (I was surprised how well she skipped too.) Skipping is a great use for old sailboat lines. We popped out soon after that to return something at Talise. I always get a kick out of the junk that they sell. Today I found a Mosquito magnet.20150515_135211 Only $20. It’s still there.

After that I took the girls home and went to the shop to get the trailer. I took it out to the yacht club. While I was there I installed a backer board inside the Siren 17 ware the motor hangs on the transom. The old piece of wood was rotted. This new piece is about twice the size and a better fit. I used PL Premium to glue it in place.20150515_161228 20150515_161501 20150515_161839 The a couple of clamp to help  it stay put while it dries.20150515_161836

After supper we went out to the yacht club for a bonfire. (Remember that old stairs that I removed from the path down to my dock…) We burnt about half of them tonight.

It was nice to be out in the relative wilderness and having a bonfire.20150515_205633I love these comfy and practical Blundstone boots! Today is the start of the Victoria day / May 24 weekend. So the park was very busy with campers. Some were camped right beside the club near where we have fires so we got to listen to 4 very bad children being yelled at by there parents. Can’t forget the raccoon chasing dog that wasn’t tied up… It barked and when it barked or ran off some lady would yell at it… Makes me wonder who taught the dog to bark… I think I know.

We did have a great time hanging out at the fire.20150515_201932 20150515_202008 20150515_203151

Tomorrow is the official start to the sailing season with the sail past of the commodore. A wine and cheese will happen at the clubhouse right after.

Leave a Reply

